IN Other
New race meeting - April 3 - and Club Updates
Bill Colgan | March 15, 2024
Training gallop on inside track - March 2024.


Autumn racing at Ruakaka has been brought forward to Wednesday 3 April (replacing the original date of Wed 10 April). This date was originally scheduled at Avondale, who are unable to race at this time. There are also up to two heats of trials scheduled on the morning before races, predominately for our local trainers.

Photo of training at the track on 12 March 2024 supplied by Bear Morgan.

Lion Red Pubs & Clubs Punters Challenge Wednesday 1 May

The annual Lion Red Pubs & Clubs Punters challenge is being held Wednesday 1 May at Ruakaka.  To register your pub team and for details, click on the buttons below or contact the club. Registrations close Monday 29th April.

$300,000 ITM/GIB Northern Region Winter Championships

The Club is pleased to advise that the Northern Region Winter Championships with five $60,000 finals will be held again at Ruakaka on Saturday July 13. The finals will be as per last year with qualifying races identified in each meeting's schedule.  

Club Updates

The Club submitted a proposal to NZTR for financial assistance to upgrade the raceday stable complex at Ruakaka, unfortunately our application was not supported by NZTR nor our amended application for a much smaller refurbishment at this time.

The Club is now looking to renovate the original horse boxes, yards and tie ups and the track staff have been busy in preparations for this refurbishment alongside other repair and maintenance projects on course such as the judges box, sand track and function room.

The Club is pleased to be one of three finalists, alongside Otago Racing Club and Racing Tauranga in the Provincial category for the revamped Club of the Year Awards which will be held at the 2024 Industry Development Day on 26 March at Ellerslie.

The assessment for this year's NZTR Club Awards is based on the 2023 calendar year from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2023. Clubs were assessed against key criteria across five categories - financial, racing, marketing, governance and innovation.


Ruakaka; Kerikeri; Whangarei; Northland